African Fashion Week 2011 – 5th and 6th August 2011

Greetings

I had the pleasure of attending the first African Fashion Week that took place on Friday 5th August to Saturday 6th August 2011 in Central London.

Africa Fashion Week London (AFWL) is an annual event involving two days of free fashion festivity, an extravagant fusion of African culture, fashion, style and music.  Celebrating London’s unique and diverse culture heritage, topped with flamboyant mixing of Western and African culture through fashion.

African Fashion Week consisted of hourly cat walks shows involving designers using African prints, textiles and fabrics from  most African countries. They also had exhibitors from UK and Africa, top  international African fashion designers, emerging African designers and  non African designers who use a lot of African prints/patterns in their work. Furthermore, they showcased some beautiful African models.

This was my first time at a large fashion show and I was truly impressed by the designs I saw. I was lucky enough to attend all the fashion shows on both days as I demand was high and the space was limited. This show was so popular that they had to turn people away! African Fashion is in demand. I commend the organisers of this event and the sponsors for supporting the vision. I took so many pictures which I will show my family and friends to support the designers. I look forward to the day I can fill my wardrobe with African Inspired Fashion from evening wear to sportswear. I would love to visit the African Fashion Weeks on the continent. If you have not done so already, check out the New African Woman magazine.

I look forward to the next event and securing my tickets. The event has inspired me to get creative and I have dusted off the sewing machine which has been hiding in my cupboard, found the material my husband purchased over 2 years ago in Ghana and get to work.

One of my favourite designers from Friday’s show was Fee Uhssi of Nigerian/French origin.

Charmaine

About blackhistorystudies

Black History Studies is a social enterprise company which operates in the interest of the community by offering courses and events in Adult Education. We aim to empower the African and Caribbean community and enable them to develop self knowledge and identity through Black History and Culture. Black History Studies aim to provide a wide range of courses and activities which will provide people with the opportunity to pursue their interest in Black History and Black Studies. We also aim to provide high quality courses and activities that can be accessed by all within the community. Our mission is to inform, inspire and empower people through Black History and Black Studies by educating the community to educate themselves thereby creating a self-sustaining learning circle. Black History Studies is dedicated to providing you with a high quality and professional service and can offer services such as: - Bespoke services for Secondary Schools - Black History and Black Studies Presentations - Black History Course for Families - 5 week short courses on Black History - Beginners and Advanced Black Studies Courses - Weekend courses on Black History and Black Studies - Museum Tours - Film Screenings - Black History Studies Presentations for hire
This entry was posted in Community Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

