Afro Hair and Beauty Show 2012

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I attended the Afro Hair and Beauty Show with my four year old princess on Monday 4th June 2012. When I visited last year I was not impressed by the lack of stalls catering for people with natural hair. I have been natural since birth, resisting the urge to succumb to the ‘creamy crack’ and relax my hair. I have been wearing my hair in locks since 2005 and have seen the number of women wearing natural styles increase over the years.

I was happy to see a variety of stalls as we entered the event. I stopped and supported blackbeautydolls.com who were very nice and approachable. I brought my princess two dolls so she was happy. There was a number of stalls selling afrocentric clothing and jewellery, which was nice to see.

We went into the main area and fought through the crowds to see the various stalls. There was a noticeable number of stalls catering for natural hair which was brilliant for me and I brought some products and some shea butter.

I learnt about a new side to Black Hair, which is the many types of weave and the over-inflated cost of weave. I could not believe the prices charged for a bag of hair. I was so intrigued I asked a lady on a stall selling ‘Armenian Hair,’ which price starts from £65 for 10 inches to £245 for 26 inches. I was informed that Armenian hair is better than Brazillian Hair as it does not shed or tangle and can be washed and re-worn for up to 2 years. It is amazing what Black women are prepared to pay for their hair.

My only disappointment about the event was that for the second year running ‘Fair and White Skin Lightening Cream’ was present at the event (I went last year and was vex at the large display they had right by the stage). Why do we continue to support these companies that go against what the event is celebrating (which is ‘Black Beauty’). I stood in amazement as people actually brought products to destroy their amazing dark skin. There is many health warning out there in the public domain warning against the use of these product but we still endorse these products by having this company at this event. When will we learn to love our Blackness?

 

About blackhistorystudies

Black History Studies is a social enterprise company which operates in the interest of the community by offering courses and events in Adult Education. We aim to empower the African and Caribbean community and enable them to develop self knowledge and identity through Black History and Culture. Black History Studies aim to provide a wide range of courses and activities which will provide people with the opportunity to pursue their interest in Black History and Black Studies. We also aim to provide high quality courses and activities that can be accessed by all within the community. Our mission is to inform, inspire and empower people through Black History and Black Studies by educating the community to educate themselves thereby creating a self-sustaining learning circle. Black History Studies is dedicated to providing you with a high quality and professional service and can offer services such as: - Bespoke services for Secondary Schools - Black History and Black Studies Presentations - Black History Course for Families - 5 week short courses on Black History - Beginners and Advanced Black Studies Courses - Weekend courses on Black History and Black Studies - Museum Tours - Film Screenings - Black History Studies Presentations for hire
This entry was posted in Community Events, Conferences and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

